Lucy, The Shining One

Hello!

I find it strange when writing my ‘about me’ post that the first thing I wrote about myself were my diagnoses. Can you imagine doing that in real life? Meeting someone, shaking their hand and saying “Hi, I’m Lucy, I have schizo-affective disorder and ADHD’
They’d look at me… well I was going to say strangely but then a lot of people do that anyway so it wouldn’t be much of a difference really

I suppose it’s different to actually introducing yourself, though, these posts. It’s more a sales pitch in a way, isn’t it? And my health is a large part of what make me who I am, so it is interesting that people understand that I have them. I am very much interested in finding out who I am outside of my diagnoses. You’d think by now I’d know who I am but I’ve always let these labels define me, rather than just… be. For too long I’ve been “Lucy the Schizo” and I want to find out who “Lucy the Person” is.

And welcome aboard my journey. I’m glad you’re here and looking forward to getting to know you as we get to know me!

I am sitting in the room in our house known as ‘the library’ – it’s basically a bedroom full of books, comfortable chairs and a desk. And a CD player. I’m listening to some Mendelssohn as I type this: A Midsummer Night’s Dream – Overture if you’re interested. I’m also thinking I need to a) cut my nails and b) learn to type. I have no idea where keys are and this is hard work. I don’t know what to do with my other 6 fingers or my thumbs!

I’ve been setting up various accounts online. I now have a Twitter (@lucyshiningone) and a last.fm (lists! alphabetised!). I’ve heard about a to-do website called Habitica which sounds interesting so I think that might be my next stopping point.

What websites do you use on a regular basis/find useful?
Where can I learn to type?!

Leave a Reply

