Lucy, The Shining One

Beef Stew

I wish you guys could smell my kitchen right now, or anywhere in my house because it’s mouthwatering. I’ve had a beef stew in the oven for the last couple of hours, it’s still got about an hour to go. The cats and dog are both sitting staring through the kitchen door and I’m half surprised that J isnt sitting there with them too

He keeps telling us how good it smells and how hungry it’s making him. I swear if he doesn’t let up, S is gonna spank him one haha

Mind, he was nicely Dominant this morning. They both were. But that’s a different story that has nothing to do with my beef stew.

It’s a pretty simple dish, not much prep… just a nice, long, slow, cooking process.
You start with softening some celery, some onion, bay and thyme in butter and vegetable oil. Stir in some flour, some tomato puree, beef stock cubes and (my secret ingredient) worcestershire sauce.
Gradually stir in boiling water, and the stewing beef and bring to a gentle simmer
Cover and pop in the oven (gas mark 3) for 2 and a half hours.
I’ve just taken off the lid and put it back in the oven – in about 45 minutes to an hour the beef will be really tender and sauce will be thick and it will be perfect.

Until then, I catch up on another episode of Frequency on Netflix

2 Comments

  1. I haven’t had beef stew in ages but I feel inspired to now! Haha! 😛

    Like

  2. Mmm, this sounds delicious! I did beef stew last Tuesday since I wasn’t at work (public holiday in Germany) so I had plenty of time to start chopping and peeling things a few hours before Jan finished work. I served mine with roasted muscat pumpkin, which was AMAZING!

    Like

Leave a Reply

