Lucy, The Shining One

Christmas Carols

I am not religious and I don’t partake in any kind of religious worship. But there’s one thing guaranteed to get me into a church once or twice a year, and that’s a Christmas Carol service. I think I’ve mentioned my love for Christmas and yes, carols are another one of the things I love.

I don’t subscribe to the religious/birth of jesus aspect of Christmas – or any of the other many festivals and celebrations by different faiths at this time of year – but I enjoy the family aspect. I certainly appreciate the pagan idea of celebrating the days getting longer.

This year there’s the Carols by a Thousand Candles concert on the 14th at Bangor Cathedral and then sometimes as well I will attend the midnight mass on Christmas Eve.

My favourite carols? Hmm in no particular order we have
Good King Wenceslas
The First Noel
Angels From The Realms Of Glory
Holly and Ivy
It Came Upon The Midnight Clear
O Come, O Come Emmannuel
Ding Dong Merrily On High
God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
In The Bleak Midwinter
Away In A Manger
O Little Town Of Bethelehem
Once In Royal David’s City
O Come All Ye Faithful
Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
Silent Night

And now I feel the need to pop on one of our many Christmas CDs…

Leave a Reply

